When I am getting ready to redecorate a room in my home, one of the things I tend to keep in mind is, “Will I be happy with this decision in the long-term?”  I really try to stay away from anything that is too trendy, unless it is something that I can easily and fairly inexpensively change.  I will usually keep the most expensive upholstered pieces fairly neutral, or at least in a palette that I know I will not tire of for the next few years, or one that I can change the look by switching out accessories or accent wall color.

So when we moved into our home, I knew immediately that I would be changing the color scheme of the rec room as soon as I could.  The previous homeowner had the room done in a red, white and blue scheme.  There were red buffalo check couches, with matching valances over the windows.  The most offending design elements in my mind were the solid red formica countertops on the bar.  (Actually, I should clarify by saying, the most offending design elements in that room.  In the kitchen, the entire base of the island was covered with a hand-painted mural of a moccasin being thrown at a cat, with flowers and tall grasses all around.  But that’s a story for another day. . . .)

Now I think there are some perfectly lovely red, white and blue rooms.  Here are a couple of photos to show you ones I think look wonderful:

Source:  jackrogersusa.tumbler.com

Source:  interiordesign.blogspot.com

Source:  materialgirlsblog.com

But, as well done as these rooms are, they don’t fit in with my “think-long-term” decorating idea.  When I think red, white and blue, I think country home, summer home, or boys’ room.  As much as I like these rooms, I just wouldn’t normally consider this color scheme.

But now I’m thinking, maybe I was wrong!  I’ve stumbled across a number of rooms using these patriotic colors, and I’d really be happy to have any one of them in my home.  The following are some rooms that really gave me reason to re-think:

Source:  horchow.com
(Isn’t the door treatment awesome?)

Source:  hgtv.com
The navy walls contrasted with all of the white molding is really quite special.  Great room!

Source:  Elle Décor
(So crisp.)

Source:  bhg.com
(I think this room looks simple but sophisticated.)

Source:  mixandchic.com
(Love this!  Looks like this includes both coral and red.)

Source:  decorpad.com
(Love the chain-link rug!)

So I guess I’ve learned I need to keep an open mind.  What do “they” say?  Never say never!  I hope you all enjoy the upcoming 4th of July holiday and the rest of your summer.

– Karen

